Santa Cecilia Como Like
The S. Cecillia Monastery, built around the middle of the thirteenth century, from 1270 was driven by the Lucini family and support of the Franciscans and the bishop Leone Lambertenghi. The building lies on the Roman walls of the imperial age, considered to be the Porta Pretoria Diocletian, destroyed by the Milanese in the Ten-Year War against Como (1118-1127). The Church of Santa Cecilia was built since 1573, by architect Bernardo Crowd from Osteno (Italian resort on Lake Lugano), the same architect who was later involved in the raising of Torre Maggiore of Pavia (1583). The new location of the church had to be chosen according to position, aligned with the Contrada dei Ratti, as a backdrop for processional citizens.
More to Explore.
Lake Como's rich history of church building goes back many centuries. Their storied past includes miracles, political intrigue and competition for parishioner loyalty.