Park Casa Prandoni: Description
The dock is set on its tip, for an incomparable view over the Lario lake region. The Home was founded in 1954 out of the generosity of Pia Prandoni, the last heir of a family of bankers. Originally, in accordance with her wishes, assistance was given to former female employees of private local banking institutions; today the majority of the Home has been remodelled to be a residential health care facility.
The park covers several levels in a succession of environments each with its own specific features. The walk to the lake begins on a wide terrace where we find a flowerbed with seasonal flowers and an umbrella-shaped wisteria. The lakeside route becomes a path lined with climbing roses with beds of cannas and an Araucaria in the centre. At the end, it becomes a stroll through lime trees and ball-shaped box trees. This leads to the dock where a statue of the Virgin Mary presides, built at the behest of Pia Prandoni in memory of her father. You can continue to another lakeside garden, or go up to the top level, covered by a round lawn and flowerbeds with a fountain in the centre. The landscape opens up while maintaining a certain intimacy: the plant life hides the buildings of the Home, giving clear views of the lake and mountains. In addition to these larger spaces, the park also offers many charming corners and picturesque walks amidst marvellous oak, beech, cypress, cedars, palms, azaleas, camellias and magnolias.