Santuario della Beata Vergine del Soccorso Ossuccio Like
This sanctuary is part of a series of shrines along a one kilometer cobble stoned walkway. The shrines depict scenes of the Madonna’s and Christ’s life and are represented by frescos and natural size statues made of stucco and terracotta. The statues were created between 1635 and 1714 by various artists of Como and the Ticino area. You ascend the Via Crucis, with stops at the shrines to admire the statues, on to the Sanctuary.
Santuario della Beata Vergine del Soccorso: Origins
According to devotional tales, the sanctuary was built because of the discovery of a marble statue of the Virgin Mary and Christ Child in a cave by a deaf mute shepherd girl. During the 15th century a small shrine was built to protect the statue that was believed to be miraculous. The small shrine was first enlarged and then transformed into a church. The central part was completed in 1537. The Sacro Monte has been registered since 2003 on the list of the Humanity World Heritage.
More to Explore.
Lake Como's rich history of church building goes back many centuries. Their storied past includes miracles, political intrigue and competition for parishioner loyalty.